

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE February 19, 2016 Contact: Ellen R. Weiss eweiss@biophysics.org

Biophysics Week to Take Place March 7-11, 2016

The Biophysical Society is pleased to announce that the inaugural **Biophysics Week** is taking place March 7-11, 2016. Biophysics Week is a global effort to encourage connections within the biophysics community and raise awareness of the field and its impact among the general public, policy makers, students, and scientists in related fields.

Several events are taking place during the week to highlight the field of biophysics to a variety of audiences. These include:

- An online chat on careers in biophysics on March 7;
- The release of an article series by *Biophysical Journal* entitled "Biophysics for Everyday Inquiring Minds" on March 8;
- A Capitol Hill briefing featuring Nobel Laureate Michael Levitt discussing why future science progress depends on young scientists on March 9;
- A webinar on the hot technique of Cryo-EM on March 11;
- The launch of a series of profiles highlighting biophysicists who are women and/or underrepresented minorities; and
- The distribution of biophysics lesson plans to high school science teachers.

In addition, Society members are planning events in ten countries. An up-to-date list of dates, times, and details, are available at www.biophysics.org/BiophysicsWeek.

The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific Society established to encourage development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its annual meeting, monthly journal, and committee and outreach activities. Its 9000 members are located throughout the U.S. and the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry. For more information on the Society or biophysics, visit www.biophysics.org.

OFFICERS

President Edward Egelman University of Virginia

President-Elect Suzanne Scarlata Stony Brook University

Past-President Dorothy Beckett University of Maryland, College Park

Secretary Frances Separovic University of Melbourne

Treasurer Paul Axelsen University of Pennsylvania

Executive Officer Rosalba Kampman Biophysical Society, Rockville

COUNCIL

Olga Boudker Ruth Heidelberger Kalina Hristova Juliette Lecomte Amy Lee Robert Nakamoto Gabriela Popescu Joseph D. Puglisi Michael Pusch Erin Sheets Antoine van Oijen Bonnie Wallace

BIOPHYSICAL JOURNAL

Editor-in-Chief Leslie Loew

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Awards H. Jane Dyson Early Careers Prithwish Pal Education Gina MacDonald Finance Paul Axelsen Inclusion and Diversity Sandy Ross International Relations Felix Goñi Member Services Frances Separovic Membership Juliette Lecomte Nominating Joseph D. Puglisi Professional Opportunities for Women (CPOW) Gabriela Popescu **Public Affairs** Edward Egelman **Publications** Olaf Anderson **Thematic Meetings Richard Aldrich**